WISHES

Your love awakens my soul

And plants a fire in my heart

And leaves me wishing for more

If only I were God

I will waste no time in making you a Goddess

If I were a trader

I will trade in all my goods in exchange for you

If I were a soothsayer

I will say many soothing words

Just to make your future one to forever spend with me

If I were the wind

I will blow away all obstacles

So you could be mine alone forever

If I were a miner

I will dig even to bottomless depths

Just to discover thy most precious jewels

If I was an artist

I would use the jewels in you

To make a perfect art of beauty

More perfect than the arts of Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni

And If I were a preacher

I will preach mighty sermons

Only by your humble figure and love

Only Heaven knows how much I adore you

And the many things I keep wishing I were

Just to fully demonstrate my love for you

But I am just me

Wishing above all else

That you will accept me just as I am

Not for what I am not or wish I were

© Mark Gadogbe (McApple)

Leave a Reply

